Reason 1 million and one why I love homeschooling

We have been a homeschooling family for a dozen years. I am not one to sugarcoat things, there has been some very trying days, days where I am ready to say forget it, we are done with this lifestyle. There are also days where I see clearly how blessed we are because of this lifestyle.

For example, we can adjust our school breaks to coincide with my dad’s vacation time so they can spend every moment possible with their grandfather. I know how precious the relationships with my grandparents were when I was growing up. To be able to foster our time so they can have the same relationship is amazing. My 18 year old even invites his grandpa to the movies with him and his friends. How awesome is that!?!

This morning is another example why I love homeschooling. I keep my two nieces here while their momma works. The bond they have with my much older children is amazing!! My youngest approached me about doing his school lessons later in the day today. It has been over a week since he got to spend quality time with them and has missed them. He wants to play with them every moment he can. He is willing to sacrifice his afternoon and evening to do his lessons then so he can play with them while they are here. Of course I couldn’t say no!

Homeschooling is such a blessing. The bond they have with each other and extended family is just one of the many blessings I contribute to our lifestyle. I will never say that homeschooling is the only way to achieve that bond, but for us it has made it easier. It is what has worked for family and I thank God each day for providing me the opportunity to spend every possible moment with my children before they spread their wings and fly.

Leave a Reply

