Why I became a student

As I take a short break before typing up the last 2 pages of my accounting final project, my thoughts wandered. Why did I become a student again? My husband has a successful business. We live as debt-free as we possibly can. I already have an education, even though I have been a stay-at-home mom for 12 years. There is no reason for me to return to school to earn this degree. If wanted, I could always go back to the early childhood education field. So why?

It is not easy, in fact, it has been quite stressful. It has been a long time since I was last a student. I was not married with 6 children. And the technology curve I have had to learn since it was not available the last time I was a student has been torture to be honest. I have grown to embrace a lot of the technology skills I have learned since returning to school. If there is not a financial motivation or any other need, why endure that stress?

Well, for me the answer is quite simple. I felt called to it. I felt this overwhelming desire to return to school. I did not even know where to start or what I wanted to go to school for. Then everything just began to fall in place. Every step of the way, doors opened and a clear direction was shown.

I love school. Yes, it is overwhelming at times but that is okay. I know I am following my heart  and following my calling.

Leave a Reply

